News and Interviews

CBC Announces Short Story Contest Finalists

Screen Shot 2019-04-17 at 12.47.15 PM

Today, CBC Books announced the finalists for their high profile CBC Short Story Prize, an award which has often gone to writers who go on to publish and become beloved household names in CanLit, including Michael Ondaatje, Carol Shields, and Camilla Gibb. 

The winner receives $6,000 from the Canada Council for the Arts as well as a two-week writing residency at the prestigious Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity. The winner of this year's prize will be announced on April 24, 2019.

The finalists for the 2019 CBC Short Story Prize:

You can click the links above to read the finalists' stories online at CBC.

The jurors for this year's CBC Short Story Prize are Esi Edugyan, Iain Reid, and Lisa Moore, who selected the shortlist from more than 3000 entries. 

Congratulations to all the finalists! For more information on the CBC Literary Prizes, please visit