News and Interviews

Griffin Prize 2019 Shortlists Announced!

Griffin prize

This morning, the Griffin Trust for Excellence in Poetry announced the 2019 shortlists for the Griffin Prize in Poetry, both Canadian and International. Judges Ulrikka Gernes (Denmark), Srikanth Reddy (USA), and Kim Maltman (Canada) each read 510 books of poetry, from 32 countries, including 37 translations.

The authors of the seven shortlisted books —four International and three Canadian—will be invited to read in Toronto at Koerner Hall at The Royal Conservatory in the TELUS Centre for Performance and Learning on Wednesday, June 5 at 7.30 p.m.

The two winners, to be announced at the Griffin Poetry Prize Awards on Thursday, June 6, will each be awarded $65,000. The finalists will each be awarded $10,000.

2019 Griffin Prize International shortlist:

  • The Perseverance by Raymond Antrobus (Penned in the Margins)
  • Lake Michigan by Daniel Borzutzky (University of Pittsburgh Press)
  • Autobiography of Death by Don Mee Choi, translated from the Korean written by Kim Hyesoon (New Directions)
  • Negative Space by Ani Gjika, translated from the Albanian written by Luljeta Lleshanaku (Bloodaxe Books)

2019 Griffin Prize Canadian shortlist:

  • The Blue Clerk by Dionne Brand (McClelland & Stewart)
  • Quarrels by Eve Joseph (Anvil Press)
  • The Art of Dying by Sarah Tolmie (McGill-Queen’s University Press)

For more information, visit the Griffin Prize website