News and Interviews

Trillium Book Award Nominees Announced!

Screen Shot 2017-05-09 at 10.30.37 AM

Today the Ontario Media Development Corporation announced the nominees for the 2017 Trillium Book Awards. The winners will be announced on June 20, 2017 at an event in Toronto, with the winner of the Trillium Book Award receiving $20,000 and the Poetry Award winner receiving $10,000. The publishers of the winning books are also awarded $2,500 and $2,000 respectively, to be put towards promoting the winning titles. Previous Trillium winners include Alice Munro, Margaret Atwood, Austin Clarke, Thomas King, and Michael Ondaatje, amongst many other beloved Canadian authors. 

Visit the OMDC's website for more information, including the French language Trillium Book Awards finalists and the finalists for the Children’s Literature Award in the French language. 

Congratulations to all the nominees, including Danila Botha and Dane Swan, who, we're proud to note, are both former Open Book writers-in-residence!

English-language Finalists for the Trillium Book Award:

  • André Alexis, The Hidden Keys, Coach House Books
  • Kamal Al-Solaylee, Brown, HarperCollins Publishers
  • Danila Botha, For All the Men (and Some of the Women) I’ve Known, Tightrope Books
  • Leesa Dean, Waiting for the Cyclone, Brindle & Glass Publishing
  • Susan Holbrook, Throaty Wipes, Coach House Books
  • Melanie Mah, The Sweetest One, Cormorant Books

Finalists for the Trillium Book Award for Poetry in English language:

  • Laurie D. Graham, Settler Education: Poems, McClelland & Stewart
  • Meaghan Strimas, Yes or Nope, Mansfield Press
  • Dane Swan, A Mingus Lullaby, Guernica Editions