News and Interviews

Writers' Trust Announces Five-Finalist Shortlist for the Rogers Fiction Prize, Including Return Nominations for Alexis & Ohlin


Today the Writers' Trust of Canada announced the five authors who will vie for the prestigious, $50,000 Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize. The winner will be announced on November 5 at the Writers' Trust's annual prize ceremony (where additional awards including the Weston Nonfiction Prize and Journey Prize will also be awarded). 

André Alexis and Alix Ohlin make return appearances on the list this year, as well as representing the only overlap between the Rogers shortlist and the Scotiabank Giller Prize longlist. Alexis won the Rogers Prize in 2015 for Fifteen Dogs, while Ohlin was previously nominated in 2012 for her novel Inside.

It continues to be a good year for independent presses in Canada on prize lists, with an impressive four out of five of the nominated titles published by Canadian-based, independent publishers. Notably, VS. Books, an imprint under Arsenal Pulp Books spearheaded by author Vivek Shraya and focused on works by emerging Indigenous or Black writers or writers of colour, has received a nomination for their first title, Shut Up You're Pretty by Téa Mutonji.

The 2019 Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize Shortlist:

  • André Alexis for Days by Moonlight (Coach House Books)
  • Sharon Butala for Season of Fury and Wonder (Coteau Books)
  • Michael Crummey for The Innocents (Doubleday Canada)
  • Téa Mutonji for Shut Up You’re Pretty (Arsenal Pulp Press)
  • Alix Ohlin for Dual Citizens (House of Anansi Press)

The jury for the 2019 Rogers Prize included Dennis Bock, Michael Kaan, and Suzette Mayr

For more information about the Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize, the authors, and their books, visit the Writers' Trust website