Latest news and interviews

The Wholesome & Inspiring Team of Creators Behind the Brilliant Picture Book A Feast for Joseph Will Win Your Heart

The Wholesome & Inspiring Team of Creators Behind the Brilliant Picture Book A Feast for Joseph Will Win Your Heart

Sharing food is a powerful connection, and one that Joseph, the young hero of Terry Farish and OD Bonny's A Feast for Joseph (Groundwood Books, illustrated by Ken Daley) misses a lot.Joseph used to ...

September 24, 2021
View all

More News

Writer in Residence

Samantha Garner’s latest book

The Quiet is Loud

The Quiet is Loud

The perfect marriage of literary and speculative fiction for readers of Kazuo Ishiguro and NK Jemisin.

When Freya Tanangco was ten, she dreamed of her mother’s death days before it happened. Freya’s life since has been spent in hiding: from the troubled literary legacy created by her author father, and from the scrutiny of a society that is hostile to vekers—people who, like her, have enhanced mental abilities.

When her prophetic dreams take a dangerous turn, Freya finds herself increasingly forced to sacrifice her own anonymity—and the fragile safety that comes with it—in order to protect those around her.

Interwoven with themes of Filipino Canadian and mixed-race identity, fantastical elements from Norse and Filipino mythology, and tarot card symbolism, The Quiet Is Loud is an intergenerational tale about the consequences of secrets and what happens when we refuse to let others tell our stories for us.

Columnists