News and Interviews

Photos! All Your Favourite Authors at the Writers' Trust Gala

The stars of CanLit came out for the Writers' Trust annual fundraising gala last week, and we've got all the glamorous photos to prove it. From publishers to novelists, broadcasters to poets, dozens of the country's finest literary types put on their black tie best to celebrate the written word at the Ritz Carlton in Toronto, at an evening that raised hundreds of thousands of dollars for the Trust's support of writers across Canada. 

The highlight of the evening was the presentation of the Writers' Trust Fellowship to acclaimed novelist Miriam Toews. The fellowship was launched to celebrate Canada's 150th birthday, and will be presented three times to writers who have proved to be doing extraordinary work in their chosen genres. First awarded last year to Newfoundland's Michael Crummey, the fellowship will be presented a third and final time in 2017. 

Check out all the photos below of the glamorous evening, and read our Q&A with several of the guest authors (including Zoe Whittall, Tim Falconer, Ray Robertson, and Alexandra Shimo) to get a taste of the event. And don't forget to keep your eyes peeled for Open Book's own Kevin Hardcastle!

ED9_3001 Noah Richler and Sarah MacLachlan

Noah Richler, author and Sarah MacLachlan, House of Anansi Press (photo credit: George Pimentel)

ED9_3075 Graeme Gibson and Margaret Atwood

Authors Graeme Gibson and Margaret Atwood (photo credit: George Pimentel)

ED9_3103 Kerry Lee Powell

Author Kerry Lee Powell (photo credit George Pimentel)

ED9_3133 Chris Jackson and Melissa Shirley

iBooks Canada at Apple's Chris Jackson and Griffin Prize publicist Melissa Shirley (photo credit: George Pimentel)

ED9_3145 Kevin Hardcastle and Jenna Illies

Author Kevin Hardcastle and Jenna Illies (photo credit: George Pimentel)

ED9_3247 Katherine Govier and Charlotte Gray

Authors Katherine Govier and Charlotte Gray (photo credit: George Pimentel)

WT GALA 16 1ts 0065 David Bezmozgis

Author David Bezmozgis (photo credit: Tom Sandler)

WT GALA 16 1ts 0169 Irfan Ali Chuqiao Yang

RBC Bronwen Wallace Award nominees Irfan Ali and Chuqiao Yang (photo credit: Tom Sandler)

WT GALA 16 1ts 0176 Zaib Sheikh Kirstine Stewart

Actor Zaib Shaikh and Diply GoViral Chief Strategy Officer Kirstine Stewart (photo credit: Tom Sandler)

WT GALA 16 1ts 0318 George Elliott Clarke and Giovanna Riccio

Canadian Parliamentary Poet Laureate George Elliott Clarke and author Giovanna Riccio (photo credit: Tom Sandler)

WT GALA 16 as 0573 Alyssa York

Author Alissa York (photo credit: Tom Sandler)

WT GALA 16 as 0638 Cailla Gibb Krystyne Griffin

Author Camilla Gibb and jewelry designer Krystyne Griffin (photo credit: Tom Sandler)

WT GALA 16 ph 0782 Chloe Vice Nic Boshart Stacey May  Fowles Mark Medley

Editor Chloe Vice, iBooks Canada at Apple Editor Nic Boshart, author Stacey May Fowles, and Globe and Mail Books Editor Mark Medley (photo credit: Tom Sandler)

Z - WT GALA 16 1ts 0146 Teva Harrison David Leonard

Author Teva Harrison and Walrus Events Director David Leonard (photo credit: Tom Sandler)

Z - WT GALA 16 1ts 0188 Brad Martin Anna Porter

Penguin Random House CEO Brad Martin and author Anna Porter (photo credit: Tom Sandler)

Z - WT GALA 16 1ts 0338 Alexandre Trudeau and Miriam Toews (1)

Authors Alexandre Trudeau and Miriam Toews (photo credit: Tom Sandler)

Z - WT GALA 16 as 0614 Erin Balsler Tom Best Hillary Best

CBC's Erin Balser, First Book Canada's Tom Best, and Toronto Urban Fellow Hilary Best (photo credit: Tom Sandler)

Z - WT GALA 16 as 0617 Jael Richardson Farzana Doctor Cherie Dimaline

Founder and Artistic Director of the Festival of Literary Diversity (The FOLD) Jael Richardson, and authors Farzana Doctor, and Cherie Dimaline (photo credit: Tom Sandler)

Z - WT GALA 16 Miriam Toews accepts prize

Miriam Toews is awarded the Writers' Trust Fellowship (photo credit: Tom Sandler)