News and Interviews

Writers' Trust of Canada Awards 2019: Jenny Heijun Wills, André Alexis, Rawi Hage Among Those Honoured


Canada celebrated the best of its literary community last night as the 2019 Writers' Trust Awards took place at the CBC's Glenn Gould Studio in Toronto. Seven literary awards and over $260,000 were presented during last night's ceremony. The full list of winners is below, and you can visit the Writers' Trust website for more information.


2019 Writers' Trust Award Winners


  • Winner of the $60,000 Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for Nonfiction: Jenny Heijun Wills for Older Sister. Not Necessarily Related.: A Memoir. (McClelland & Stewart)


  • Winner of the $50,000 Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize: André Alexis for Days by Moonlight (Coach House Books)


  • Winner of the $10,000 Writers' Trust McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize: Angélique Lalonde for "Pooka" (originally published by PRISM International)


  • Winner of the $25,000 Latner Writers' Trust Poetry Prize: Stephen Collis


  • Winner of the $25,000 Matt Cohen Award: Olive Senior


  • Winner of the $25,000 Vicky Metcalfe Award for Literature for Young People: Susan Nielsen


  • Winner of the $25,000 Writers' Trust Engel Findley Award: Rawi Hage


Hosted by Catherine Hernandez, author of Scarborough (Arsenal Pulp Press), the festivities brought together more than 300 members of the literary, arts and media communities from all over Canada.

To learn more about the authors shortlisted for the Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for Nonfiction (including this year's winner), head over to our interview with the nominees here