News and Interviews

The Trillium Books Awards Shortlists Have Been Announced

2024 Trillium Book Awards shortlists, image of all the shortlisted books lined up in a grid with text framing the images.

2024 Trillium Book Awards shortlists

Earlier today, Ontario Creates announced the finalists for the 2024 Trillium Book Awards. Established in 1987, the prize annually recognizes the best book and best poetry collection from writers in Ontario. This year's shortlists contained an exciting mix of established and emerging authors, some of whom will find their names etched into Ontarian literary history with some of the finest writers in the country.

Here are the shortlisted authors in all categories:

Trillium Book Award:

  • Sleep is Now a Foreign Country: Encounters with the Uncanny by Mike Barnes
  • The Clarion by Nina Dunic
  • North of Middle Island by D.A. Lockhart
  • Anecdotes by Kathryn Mockler
  • River Mumma by Zalika Reid-Benta

Trillium Book Award for Poetry:

  • Wires that Sputter by Britta Badour
  • More Sure by A. Light Zachary
  • Continuity Errors by Catriona Wright

Prix Trillium:

  • La fin de nos programmes by Martin Bélanger
  • Plonge, Freya, vole ! by Andrée Christensen
  • L'aurore martyrise l'enfant by David Ménard
  • Le parfum de la baleine by Paul Ruban
  • Vivre ou presque by Nicolas Weinberg

The winners in both the English and French categories of the Trillium Book Award will receive $20,000, while the winner of the poetry category will receive $10,000. They will be announced on June 20, 2024.


The Trillium Book Awards have been presented for over 35 years. The multi-genre award is especially unique as it accepts books in any genre, pitting nonfiction, memoir, poetry, novels, books for children, drama, and short stories against one another in the same category, which is a rarity in the literary prize sector. Previous winners of the Trillium Awards include Dionne Brand, Alice Munro, Margaret Atwood, Timothy Findley, Nino Ricco, Austin Clarke, Wayson Choy, Thomas King, Michael Ondaatje, and many other acclaimed Canadian writers. For more information, including the 2022 French language winners and finalists, visit the Ontario Creates website.