News and Interviews

Enter to Win a Pair of Tickets to the Griffin Reading & Prize Announcement

black banner image with the red Griffin Prize logo on the right and text reading "Win Tickets to the Griffin Readings & Prize Announcement. Enter to win a pair of tickets to the shortlist readings & the announcement of the 2023 Griffin Poetry Prize winner" Open Book logo bottom right

With spring in full swing in Toronto, lots of book lovers are eager to get out and connect with the literary community. There are plenty of great events coming up that will offer readers a great way to mingle (like The Word on the Street), but a particularly special event for poetry lovers every year is the Griffin Poetry Prize shortlist readings.

Featuring in-person readings from the poets nominated for the prize, it's a rare event that collects some of the most acclaimed living writers in the world. The 2023 event features reading by Robyn Creswell, Iman Mersal, Ada Limón, Susan Musgrave, Roger Reeves, and Ocean Vuong, together with this year’s Lifetime Recognition Award recipient, and the Canadian First Book Prize winner. 

Most exciting of all, the shortlist reading event will, for the first time, feature the announcement of the Griffin Poetry Prize winner.

Courtesy of the The Griffin Trust For Excellence In Poetry, we're giving away two (2) tickets to the shortlist reading and prize announcement to one lucky reader.

To enter, simply send us an email at and tell us which poet you're most looking forward to hearing from at the ceremony. Please include a mailing address and the subject line "Open Book Griffin Readings contest". All entries must be received by 11:59p.m. EST on May 21, 2023 to be considered.

One winner will be chosen at random and notified via email. One entry per person. This contest is open to Canadian residents only. Chance of winning depends on number of entries received.

The Griffin Prize shortlist readings will be hosted at Koerner Hall, a beautiful concert venue located at 273 Bloor Street West, on June 7, 2023, beginning at 7:30pm. A winner must be able to attend the ceremony in person in order to claim their prize.