News and Interviews

Griffin Poetry Prize Planning Online Announcement of Shortlist and Winners

The Griffin Trust for Excellence in Poetry has announced that they will be shelving this year's Griffin Poetry Prize shortlist readings and awards ceremony due to the ongoing threat of COVID-19. The events, which were due to take place June 8 and 9, respectively, will now take place online.

The shortlist, which includes three Canadian poets, will be unveiled April 7 at 9:00 a.m. on Facebook, Twitter, and the Griffin Poetry Prize website. The two recipients of the $65,000 prize will be revealed online on May 19.

This year, the Griffin Poetry Prize shortlist was selected from 572 collections submitted by 208 publishers from around the world. The jury consists of Paula Meehan (Ireland), Kei Miller (Jamaica/U.K.), and Hoa Nguyen (Canada).

For more information on the Griffin Trust and Poetry Prize, visit them here