News and Interviews

League of Canadian Poets Announces Shortlists for 2019 Poetry Book Awards

NPM 2019

Poetry Month is winding down, but it's far from over! Today the League of Canadian Poets announced the shortlists for their prestigious poetry awards: the Gerald Lampert Memorial Award, the Pat Lowther Memorial Award, and the Raymond Souster Award. 

Gerald Lampert Memorial Award 

Given in the memory of Gerald Lampert, an arts administrator who organized authors’ tours and took a particular interest in the work of new writers. The award recognizes a debut book of poetry published by a Canadian. The award carries a $2,000 prize and is sponsored by the LCP.

2019 Gerald Lampert Memorial Longlist:

•    Ekke by Klara du Plessis (Palimpsest Press)
•    Quarry by Tanis Franco (University of Calgary Press)
•    Unstable Neighbourhood Rabbit by Mikko Harvey (House of Anansi Press)
•    Dividing the Wayside by Jenny Haysom (Palimpsest Press)
•    Obits. by Tess Liem (Coach House Books) 
•    Port of Being by Shazia Hafiz Ramji (Invisible Publishing)

2019 Jury: Adebe DeRango-Adem, Amanda Earl, Jacob McArthur Mooney 

Pat Lowther Memorial Award 

Given for a book of poetry by a Canadian woman, and is in memory of the late Pat Lowther, whose career was cut short by her untimely death in 1975. The award carries a $2,000prize and is sponsored by the LCP.

2019 Pat Lowther Memorial Award Longlist:

•    Listen Before Transmit by Dani Couture (Wolsak & Wynn)
•    Ekke by Klara du Plessis (Palimpsest Press)
•    Body Work by Emilia Nielsen (Signature Editions)
•    East and West by Laura Ritland (Véhicule Press) 
•    Reunion by Deanna Young (Brick Books) 
•    The Missing Field by Jennifer Zilm (Guernica Editions)

2019 Jury: Robert Colman, Brenda Leifso, Shane Neilson

Raymond Souster Award

Given for a book of poetry by a League of Canadian Poets member. The award honours Raymond Souster, an early founder of the League of Canadian Poets. The award carries a $2,000 prize and is sponsored by the LCP.

2019 Raymond Souster Award Longlist:

•    Anatomic by Adam Dickinson (Coach House Books)
•    I left nothing inside on purpose by Stevie Howell (McClelland & Stewart)
•    Welcome to the Anthropocene by Alice Major (University of Alberta Press)     
•    Tar Swan by David Martin (NeWest Press)   
•    Rooster, Dog, Crow by Jim Nason (Frontenac House) 
•    Ledi by Kim Trainor (Book*hug) 

2019 Jury: Kathy Mac, Maurice Mierau, Concetta Principe

Winners, including that of the 2019 Sheri-D Wilson Golden Beret Award for Spoken Word, will be announced at the annual Awards Ceremony in St. John’s, Newfoundland, on June 8, 2019. Visit the League of Canadian Poets website for more.