News and Interviews

Scotiabank Giller Prize Announces 2020 Jury

With 2019 winner Ian Williams still fresh in our minds, jurors have now been announced for the 2020 Scotiabank Giller Prize.

Celebrating its 27th year, Executive Director Elana Rabinovitch revealed today that the five-member jury of this year's prize will include Canadian authors authors David Chariandy, Eden Robinson, and Mark Sakamoto (who will serve as jury chair) as well as Canadian/British author and journalist Tom Rachman and Guardian books editor Claire Armitstead.

Submissions for the prize are now being accepted, with graphic novels from Canadian publishers being considered for the prize for the first time in its history. All details for submissions can be found here.

This year's longlist will be announced in St. John's, Newfoundland in early September, with a shortlist to be presented during early October in Toronto. The winner will be named during a nationally-televised dinner and awards ceremony held in Toronto in November.

More information on individual jury members and the Scotiabank Giller Prize can be found at their website